River King

8 Reasons You Totally Need a Mess of "Mom Friends" link posted below...

Sitter in Berkeley

8 Reasons You Totally Need a Mess of "Mom Friends" http://....com/ Almost 2.5 years ago I discovered I was going to become a Mother. It's been an amazing journey, and I'm pleased to say that my son, 20 months old already, is beyond delightful - he's one of the healthiest, happiest toddlers around, and I often think I hit the parenting jackpot with having him in my life. I'd like to attribute this to lofty ideas such as my value systems, attitude toward life, and attachment parenting preferences that I'm sure have played a role in the wellbeing of both my son and I, but maybe I just got lucky. In the beginning of our journey together I was fortunate to have found meaningful work that I was able to schedule around his naps and bedtimes. And just when he was ready to launch himself into full-fledged walking, climbing, and dancing toddlerhood, which required me to be way more inventive and flexible with my work schedule, I stumbled across an opening for an assistant Day Care worker. Perfect! A way for him to play and socialize with other kids his age while I earn a little income and still get to nurse when needed throughout the day. It turns out we are both happier and more stimulated with the new routine, and my son gets along really well with others. I've enjoyed watching the development of several toddlers at once, and since I'm a genuine foodie I've been totally jazzed over the delight on their faces as I provide fresh, in-season, and local fruits and veggie recipes. For the record, my summer corn chowder made creamy with smashed sweet potatoes and cashew cream is a major hit right now! I'm leaving this post because I've come to realize that I am way to good at my job to be making minimum wage while I provide loving care and attention to anywhere from 4--7 kids at the same time. So I've decided to change things up a bit - I'd really like my son and I to pal around with a family in a situation with something like a nanny-share - one where I provide both the "Nannying" AND the other toddler that shares my services. The ideal family will have a child around the same age as my son (around 10 - 36 months) so the kids could have shared schedules - nap times, meals, play and outings. And just so you get a little idea of who we are: our best days are filled with music and yoga or dance sessions, reading and maybe a trip to the library, home cooked meals and snacks made from fresh produce (no refined flour or sugar works best for us), a good nap, and plenty of free play with random silliness inserted throughout the day. We love being outdoors, visiting parks and the Little Farm here in Berkeley. And right now, my son thinks bubbles and side walk chalk are all the rage. Here's why you'll want to at least meet and interview me :) if not hire me right on the spot: Back before my dreams of starting a family I earned a B.A. in Music and have spent 15 years of my adult career teaching piano, theory, ear training, composition, and hosting recitals. During and just before going off to college I gained 2 years of professional nanny experience for a family with two boys, 3 and 7 years old; and before that, during my last 4 years as a teenager, I worked as an assistant preschool teacher at a large school in the Chicago area. So I have plenty of experience working with and teaching children of all ages. I've had a recent Cal Live Scan done, and have been CPR certified. I've returned to Childcare work at this time in my life so I can be with my son for as long as possible. If you think your family would benefit from another Mama/Nanny-with-an-enjoyable-Toddler-in-Tow then we would like to meet you. We would love to find a position in the San Francisco, East Bay, Mill Valley, or Marin areas. For the right family I would consider a live-in nanny position. 8 Reasons You Totally Need a Mess of "Mom Friends" http://....com/

Sitter Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 510-325-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 20
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn (0-12 months)
Toddler (1-3 years)
Services Daycare
School Pick-up and Drop-off
Children's Crafts
Swimming Supervision
Pet Care
Training Cpr
First Aid
Household Sitter Owns Transportation
Light Meal Preparation
Run Errands
Light Housekeeping
Hourly Rate $15.00
Number Of Children 1


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Child Care Provider

I Need a Child Care Provider
Post your Job
I Am a Child Care Provider
Post your Profile