1. Sitters
  2. Canada
  3. Ontario
  4. Newmarket

Jenna S

Experienced, Energetic, Fun, and Reliable Nanny/Sitter
Newmarket, Ontario
Active over a week ago

Sitter in Newmarket, Ontario

I'm an
Hello! My name is Jenna and I am a recent graduate from the University of Western Ontario with an honors degree in Childhood Studies and Social Justice and Peace Studies. I also have a certificate in working with children in the Canadian court system. Obviously, working with children of all ages and abilities is my passion! So much so, that I have over ten years of experience caring for children and youth in a variety of settings with a broad range of abilities. In fact, I have recently returned from a six month internship with the Federal Canadian Government’s department of Global Affairs in Eastern Africa where I worked at a Child Support Centre, Baby Home, and Daycare in order to further develop my skills and experiences working with a variety of children. In addition to this professional experience, I have worked as a babysitter, youth mentor, children’s figure skating coach, and camp counsellor which have provided me with practical skills and knowledge in childcare. I was born and raised in the Northern GTA with my younger sister in a house with both my parents and our large dog – whom we referred to as the fifth member of our family. As such, I am definitely an animal lover and have no qualms interacting with all animals of different sizes and breeds. On a more personal level, I am an avid figure skater, swimmer, and skier; I love to read; I am an excellent cook who loves to experiment; and I have a passion for travel and discovering diverse cultures. While attending university, I worked at the Residence and Conference Services Office as an Administrative Assistant. During my final year at university, I worked as a Teaching Assistant for a Professor in which I led lectures and tutorials, marked papers, and graded presentations. Additionally whilst in London, I volunteered for three years at the Boys and Girls Club of London as a Youth Mentor with an original mentoring group called Just for Girls in which I worked with at-risk girls ages 10-15 years old focusing on female empowerment, life skills, healthy meal preparation, and positive living. Through my years of volunteering for the Boys and Girls Club of London, I was nominated for and won the Ontario Volunteer Service Award for my continued desire to better my community. In terms of my childcare experience I have been working as a babysitter and mother’s helper for approximately 10 years. This involved a regular weekly job caring for a thirteen month old boy whose mother was an artist and needed uninterrupted time in the studio. While working with this child I performed tasks such as creative play time, walks, visits to the library and park, arts and crafts, reading, and preparing and serving snacks. I worked with this family regularly for five years and continue to visit and occasionally babysit their son in the evenings. Additionally, I worked as a babysitter for many families with multiple children during the day and overnight. As a babysitter I performed similar tasks as listed above in addition to preparing and serving meals, putting children to bed both for naps and nighttime, feeding and/or walking family pets, and performing light cleaning and housework. As stated before, I have worked at a Child Support Centre and Baby Home in Eastern Africa with orphaned children with a variety of abilities. These children ranged in age from three weeks old to eleven years old. Some of these children were determined to have special needs with issues such as epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, and fetal alcohol syndrome. While there, I was responsible for a variety of tasks including feeding, diaper changing, informal recreational therapy, providing educational sessions (i.e. reading, writing, colouring, audio-visual stimulation, etc.), weekly outings, imaginative play, preoccupying the children during outdoor playtime, etc. While in Eastern Africa, I also worked at a Daycare situated in a regional referral hospital. Here I interacted with children from a variety of ages that ranged from infants to young teenagers. While there, I cared for children and youth who were both patients and children of patients, and performed early childhood education tasks such as reading and writing, arts and crafts, imaginative play, sports, and playground supervision. These experiences, in conjunction with my babysitting, youth mentorship familiarities, and degree in Childhood Studies, have provided me with a wide range of skills and knowledge regarding child and youth care. I am so excited to find a loving family in need of an energetic, creative, and reliable nanny for their children and I cannot wait to discuss things with you further! Thank you for reading all about me, please feel free to contact me via email or telephone if you have any additional questions or to set up a meet-and-greet. I am looking forward to hearing all about you and your family and hopefully meeting them in the near future.


Ages include:
Newborn 0-12 months
Toddler 1-3 years
Early School 4-6 years
Primary School 7-11 years
Preteen/teen 12+ years
I have advanced experience with:
Special needs
Sick children


Responsibilities include:
Meal prep
Arts & crafts
Pickup & dropoff
Pet care
Swim supervision

Share This Profile

Find Babysitting in Newmarket, Ontario
More in Newmarket, Ontario