Colleen B

Looking to be your occasional sitter
Calgary, Alberta
Active 5 days ago
0

Want to connect with Colleen?

Get Started Now

Sitter in Calgary, Alberta

Hi, my name is Colleen and I have a ton of experience working with children. In fact I've got a university degree in psychology with a specific focus on child development and have spent my entire career (25 years) working in the field. I've been a nanny, run a dayhome, worried as an Educational Assistant in a preschool, and worked as a Child Development Specialist for Alberta Health Services. My primary duties at AHS are running parent education sessions, doing assessments, writing reports, providing play based interventions that encourage development in a variety of areas, parent support, behaviour interventions, running play groups, etc. I love working with kids and will engage them in a variety of activities such as crafts, stories, baking/cooking, outdoor play, etc. I enjoy going on outings to various places around the city. I'm looking to provide occasional care for a family. I can provide some part-time care during the days or for 'date nights' on the weekend. I take my career very seriously and will treat your children like they were my own. I would prefer a family that is interested in a longer term arrangement although times and dates can vary. I would also consider doing before and after school care, or nanny sharing for the right family/families. I love dogs and cats and my family has fostered for a local rescue group for the last 3 years. I am fine if you also have fur-babies. I will always tidy up after myself and the kids but I generally don’t do housework because my focus is your children. I feel like I can offer a lot to your family because of my experience. I can provide developmentally appropriate activities that encourage speech development, play skills, social skills, fine and gross motor play, school readiness skills, etc. I am happy to get a new EPIC (police clearance). I have them already formy kid’s school and Calgary Minor Soccer although if you require it, I may need to apply for a new one since they are difficult to share between groups. I have also taken CPR/first aid level C although this would need to be renewed. That said I was married to a paramedic and so I helped him study for his exams and feel that I have a good knowledge base. Outside of childcare I love spending time with my kids watching movies, cooking, or playing board games. I also volunteer for the Alberta Children’s Hospital, my daughter’s soccer team and the kid’s school. I look forward to meeting you.

Availability

I can work:
Part-time
Occasional
Short term

Experience

I can look after:
5 children
Ages include:
Newborn 0-12 months
Toddler 1-3 years
Early School 4-6 years
Primary School 7-11 years
Preteen/teen 12+ years
I have advanced experience with:
Twins/multiples
Special needs
Sick children

Services

Babysitter
Responsibilities include:
Meal prep
Housekeeping
Laundry
Errands
Has own vehicle
Arts & crafts
Pickup & dropoff
Pet care
Swim supervision

Qualifications

CPR
First Aid
ECE
Background check

Share This Profile

Want to connect with Colleen?

Get Started Now
Find Babysitting in Calgary, Alberta
More in Calgary, Alberta

Want to connect with Colleen?

Get Started Now