Rachel Pless

Caring, Fun, and Compassionate nanny welcomes children into her home for natural learning.

Sitter in Philadelphia

Im looking to welcome (3) children into my home for 30-50 hours a week at $10 an hour. Ages welcomed are 2-6, (children who are not yet in school and have full days in need of care) Highlights of my Home Care: Child-Led Learning Letting the child being the initiator of their learning. I will have focused attention towards your childs interests, passions, and unique learning style and will be making strong efforts to bring any resources available to your child to facilitate their learning. And have fun doing so! I want to nurture and celebrate their natural sense of joy, wonder and belief in their own limitless potential. Nurturing Emotional Support The most important aspect of Childcare is connecting and meeting the emotional needs of children. I will create an environment for your child that allows them to be heard and express themselves freely without judgement. When they feel emotionally satisfied is when they are truly able to thrive and learn. Organic, Healthy, and Kid-Friendly Lunch and Snacks When it comes to picky eaters I know what Im dealing with. Children do not like to feel controlled when it comes to their diet, thats why I will take initiative in getting the children (even the very young ones) involved in the process. An example would be taking them to the farmers market and letting them pick the veggie that they would like to help me prepare, or finding ways to turn their favorite meals healthy with the best quality ingredients. Allowing choices helps children to feel included and empowered to eat healthy. *All included in the cost Weekly Fieldtrips As fulfilling as the indoor projects and playing will be, theres nothing quite like exploring! We will go on weekly outings to stimulate your childs mind and get natural sunlight. I am located right next to Cloverly Park, the Wissahickon River & Trails, The Zoo, The Touch It Childrens Museum, and the Farmers Market. *All included in the cost Discipline - What sets me apart from most nannies is my way of dealing with negative behaviors. I believe in setting limits using gentle guidance instead of punitive punishments. I will never shame your child or give them time outs because I have a deep understanding that a childs bad behavior is simply them acting out a need that they are unable to communicate. Instead I will investigate the root cause of the childs actions, and understand their point of view in order to rectify the problem. Safety Children are fast and curious, exploring the world around them at a rapid pace. Safety means more than child-proofing the home, its having a keen eye and careful consideration when going on outings. Its being able to analyze the perimeter of the children at any given time and having sound judgement on when to take action. I am a very safe, conscious driver with no accidents on my record. I have first-aid training and am CPR certified. I also have many risk-free natural remedies up my sleeve for minor issues. Maintaining a safe environment for your child is of the utmost importance to me. Environment When were not on outings, we will be in my 1 bedroom apartment in a great area in East Falls. The apartment building itself is private and safe, and requires a key for entry. There is enough space for (3) children to work on projects, play games, eat, and nap. I will have all kinds of age appropriate materials and toys. The TV will rarely be on and will be used for interactive learning experiences. I share the apartment with my boyfriend, Rich, He is 26 years old and works full time as a behavioral health specialist with children at a school. He embraces the idea of having children in our home and is very kind and respectful towards children. You are more than welcomed to meet him as well. We share the home with our dog, Luna, a medium sized Shepherd mix. She doesnt have an aggressive bone in her body and is very loving towards children, but will mostly be out of the way. Constant Communication & Updates I know its hard to say goodbye to your child, not knowing what is going on throughout the day. I think communication with the parent is essential whether its about a runny nose, an unusual mood, or something they proudly conquered that day You will always be in the loop! I would be more than happy to send a picture here and a text there about some of their daily experiences. (That is optional of course) Flexibility Are you struggling with getting to work on time while having to drop off your child at daycare? I am very flexible with arranging pickup and drop-offs of your child. Depending on your schedule, I will work with you to find a good outcome for the both of us. That might look something like me picking up from your home while you are responsible for pick-ups later that evening after work, it may vary from week to week, and we can figure it out together. That flexibility also includes understanding when it comes to late days, and possibly overnights when needed. ABOUT ME: You may be wondering who is it that can provide these kinds of amenities for your child, is it too good to be true? My name is Rachel and I am 24 years old. Although I graduated from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition as a Health Coach, my true passion is Psychology and Child Development. Aside from taking classes at The Resources for Infant Educarers, I have independently studied the subject of raising children from some of the best experts in the field including Magda Gerber, Maria Montessori, John Holt, Alfie Kohn, Gabor Mate, and Naomi Aldort. I also have experience in caring for children and have held some kind of nanny position since I was a young teenager ranging in newborn babies to older mature children. As serious as I may sound, I have a lot of fun and really enjoy and cherish building relationships with young children and watching them succeed. My ultimate dream is to open a Montessori School at some point in my life. When Im not studying I am relaxing at home with a good show, hiking with my boyfriend and dog, or exploring all of the good restaurants in the area. Please contact me if you're interested!

Sitter Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 310-701-... Confirmed
Zip Code 19144
Years of Experience 7
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Toddler (1-3 years)
Early School Age (4-6 years)
Services Daycare
School Pick-up and Drop-off
Children's Crafts
Swimming Supervision
Pet Care
Training Cpr
First Aid
Household Sitter Owns Transportation
Light Meal Preparation
Run Errands
Light Housekeeping
Hourly Rate $10.00
Twins/Multiples Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Child Care Provider