Melissa Jorgensen

Former Preschool Teacher Looking for Steady Full or Part-time hours

Sitter in Lake Hiawatha

I was recently employed for one year at a local preschool/daycare as a center floater. During that time, I worked with children ages 2 months to 6 years. Directly prior to that, I was employed part-time watching a 7-year-old girl three days a week after school. I am 21 years old and an Early Childhood Education major with a life-long passion for children. Nearly all of my goals and dreams have related to children in some way, whether it was my dream of a "Lego table" or my dream of getting a book of poetry published. I also have a huge passion for adoption and foster care, a dream that I have to wait on due to age and finances. I have worked in a preschool, as an assistant for birthday parties, a private Babysitter, a full-time nanny/housekeeper, and have been involved in various volunteer positions relating to Childcare. Although I need money to provide for certain things (as we all do), my biggest dreams involve working with children for no pay. In fact, they will ultimately cost me money. I am not one of those teenagers who wants to work with kids as an easy way to make some extra cash. I want to work with kids because it is a passion of mine. Often, I'll forget about the paycheck; I get too wrapped up in what I love. I can be shy, but I can also be pretty goofy. It's a nice blend of flexibility that suits a job that requires someone who is both serious and firm, but also fun-loving and playful. I sing and write. I am the kind of person who cannot babysit without getting on the floor and playing with the children. I have to get right down at their level, not just stand back and observe. At the same time, I know how to draw the line between being the responsible adult and their friend. If you just want someone to clean while the kids watch television, do not bother contacting me. I am looking for a job that focuses on the kids, not on cleaning up after mom and dad (although I will do housework). I want a job where I can interact and form a bond with the children. I'll do crafts, play games, read, and more. I am very much in touch with my inner child, and I like to let that part of me shine

Sitter Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 862-207-... Confirmed
Zip Code 07034
Years of Experience 10
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn (0-12 months)
Toddler (1-3 years)
Early School Age (4-6 years)
Primary School Age (7-11 years)
Services Babysitter
School Pick-up and Drop-off
Children's Crafts
Pet Care
Training Early Childhood Educator
Household Sitter Owns Transportation
Light Meal Preparation
Light Housekeeping
Hourly Rate $10.00
Number Of Children 8
Twins/Multiples Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Child Care Provider

I Need a Child Care Provider
Post your Job
I Am a Child Care Provider
Post your Profile