Brandy Bradshaw

Great references, quality care & experienced

Sitter in Newport News

Do you have a full-time job, are you a student or is care-giving your career? Care-giving is my full time job. I am currently not enrolled in school due to financial/schedule mix up and would like to spend this time away from school committed to a family and put my energy to good use. I am confident in my loyalty in giving a time commitment to the right family. I have one class remaining that can be taken online to finish up my dual degree in political science & psychology. How many years have you been a caregiver? I have been a caregiver for over 15 years formally, starting with my younger brother & his friends, neighbors children, and starting in high school for my churchs Vacation Bible School, Day Care, and nursery. Ive always been the protective/nurturing person for all situations Im in, even to this day with people my own age. I have recently been a nanny for 3 families in the last 4 years-one special needs family, one work from home family dynamic, and another military family with the father deployed. For babysitting, what age ranges have you sat for and which are you most comfortable with? I have sat for the age range of 9wks-middle school ages. I cant say there is one age range over the others that I prefer in comfort, but I have had a lot more experience with children under/around the age of 2 recently. More than anything, the difference in ages for siblings is the most interesting dynamic that I can experience and that always makes for a fun time. Do you have any pets or children yourself? I do not have any children for myself, nor am I married. I do have two rescue cats that Ive had for over 5 years. I worked as a Pet Nutrition Specialist in pet specialty stores all over Hampton Roads, so I can safely say I love and am familiar with most animals. I also grew up on a farm in Chesapeake and was apart of 4H and Girl Scouts growing up. Animals are always going to be a big part of my life. If you speak any languages, are you fluent or do you have a basic understanding? I grew up hearing Spanish since my mother is from Colombia, but my father is Irish so we mostly spoke English. I can understand/read/write in Spanish after taking Spanish in high school and college for over 4years, but am not comfortable (shy) speaking with a native in Spanish outside of my family. Do you have favorite toys or games you like to play with the children or pets? I grew up playing outside, and played soccer-softball-karate-etc. I do like to go for bike rides with the kids, take for walks in their strollers, find a playground to go swinging, and make sure they stay actively busy. Every household is different, as are the children, so Im always flexible in finding a way to keep the kids engaged and happy. Ive been known to insist on making Valentines Day cards, painting, baking, building forts, and welcoming their neighborhood friends over for movie nights if the weather is bad. Ive been known for story times, puzzles, or educational games. Mostly with the younger children, I will sing or play kid-approved music on a children's Pandora radio station a lot in the background, hum/sing to teach letters or words, rhythms, and keep babies dancing and moving.

Sitter Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 757-713-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 15
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn (0-12 months)
Toddler (1-3 years)
Early School Age (4-6 years)
Primary School Age (7-11 years)
Preteen/Teenager (12+ years)
Services Nanny
School Pick-up and Drop-off
Children's Crafts
Swimming Supervision
Pet Care
Training Cpr
First Aid
Household Sitter Owns Transportation
Light Meal Preparation
Run Errands
Light Housekeeping
General Special Needs
Hourly Rate $10.00
Number Of Children 4
Sick Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Child Care Provider

I Need a Child Care Provider
Post your Job
I Am a Child Care Provider
Post your Profile