Carol Preston

Need sitter for Autistic child

Family in Fogelsville

We are in need of an experienced evening/weekend caregiver for our 3 year old Autistic/ADHD son. You must be a non-smoker. He is essentially non-verbal, but can sign in ASL. He can mimic words but is unable to communicate his needs for the most part verbally. We are presently working on potty training with fair success. As is prone with Autistic kids, he is a wanderer, meaning you cannot leave him unattended, nor leave the doors unlocked in the house when he is inside. He is extremely intelligent just cannot communicate. As all his teachers, behavioral specialist and his TSS say, he is the cutest thing. If he likes you, he will show affection. He is a surprisingly excellent judge of character for his age. The person we are looking for ideally has experience in dealing with Autism/ADHD/Speech Delays. Having a degree in Childcare is helpful but not required. We are willing to train you on ASL and techniques that work well with him. Essentially, having a TON of patience and being actively diligent are the truly important. He is fast as lightning and can be out of sight in no time. You have to have a lot of energy to keep up with him. We have a plethora of activities, toys, and sensory tools to use, but if you have items of your own that have been useful, please bring them too. We are always open to new ideas. Having an Autistic child means being flexible and being able to change with him as his needs change frequently. Our BSC and TSS say we are one of the few families that go the extra mile in getting the tools he needs. The hours would be 2 - 3 evenings during the week from 6:00pm to 10:00pm and Saturday and Sunday will have different times as my husband works rotating shift work but it is a set schedule for 6 weeks at a time. Saturdays could be up to 8 hrs per shift depending on my workload. I am a massage therapist with a private practice. I see clients in my office and offsite at their locations. I also pick up part time work here and there to help with expenses. That usually entails me having to work Friday/Saturday evenings. Point is you would need to have some flexibility for weekends. We will try to get a set schedule as best as possible to make everything easier. You must be pet friendly. We have 2 dogs, a cat and a bearded dragon. Dogs and cat have free run of the house. They are all very friendly and non-aggressive. Not expecting you to care for them, but we can't have anyone who has allergies to pets. The bearded dragon stays in his cage so there is no reason to be fearful if you are not familiar with reptiles. Your duties on weeknights will include minor meal prep (heating up food in microwave/on stove/in oven), helping him to stay at his table to eat. Nothing elaborate. We keep quick fix foods on hand as its next to impossible to cook a big meal when caring for him by myself. Load dishwasher with dirty dishes when done with meal. Helping him to use the bathroom. Changing diapers if needed. Getting him changed for bedtime and then to bed. Some nights he will be asleep by 8:30, some nights he's up til 10:30pm. There is no rhyme or reason, no particular tell tail signs to judge by. We keep his evening activities as non-stimulating as possible. Dim the the lights after 7:30pm, turn volume down on show he is watching, avoid playing with toys. On weekends, depending on times of shift, care will include playtime activities, meal prep, potty/diaper changes, going to park (weather permitting), taking a walk, playing in our fenced in yard. We are open to you taking him in your personal vehicle as long as you have full insurance coverage and a good driving record. Frankly, his Dad and I are exhausted. We also need some adult time. When we aren't at work we are with him. So if you amenable to covering for us to have a date night twice a month, we would truly appreciate it.

Family Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 267-901-... Confirmed
Zip Code 18051
Years of Experience 2
Preferred Applicants Individuals
Age Group Toddler (1-3 years)
Services Babysitter
School Pick-up and Drop-off
Household Light Meal Preparation
General Special Needs
Hourly Rate $8.00
Number Of Children 1

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Child Care Job

Carol Preston’s Other Listings