Rebecca McCoy

Patient experienced nanny (special needs experience)

Sitter in Salem

Hello, my name is Rebecca McCoy. I have worked in a memory care unit for a year and a half located in Oregon City called McLoughlin Place. I worked caregiving when I was first hired and was quickly trained as med tech. Patience is my middle name, I am very calm in stressful situations and can keep a calm demeanor even during chaotic moments. I am CPR trained and lots of experience in first aid. I can provide my resume and references upon request. I worked in a care facility prior for residents with schizophrenia and other similar disorders. My family have been involved with DHS frequently and have fostered numerous children with disabilities such as autism, FAS, drug effects from birth and etc. I come from a family of 8 children, so my patience is incredibly high. I was trained to assist residents with wound care, I also did all diabetic residents insulin and worked with the labs weekly on each resident on warfarin. I ran the main desk as well as administering meds to 50 residents with dementia. I learn very quickly, and enjoy learning new things. I am not intimidated by chaos or stress, and can maintain a professional demeanor at the right times. I am also very loving, and connect with the residents on a level that I truly care for their well being. Unfortunately, where I worked before death was a monthly occurrence. Although it is hard I have learned to separate my emotions and do what needs to be done. I have been recently working with a few children with mental disabilities and helping with all their needs. I have a young son who's almost 2, depending on the child/ren's needs bringing him would help me however I can always arrange for babysitting. Texting and email are the best ways to reach me because my reception is spotty so if you call me I may not get it right away. I am a very sensitive loving person, and can provide many many references for your comfort; I know from personal experience how much concern is in a parents heart when leaving their child in the care of someone else. Days and hours are open and I can babysit at my place once I've moved, I am currently moving to a place of my own in January where I would be more than willing to have the child/ren at. Special needs isn't always a walk in the park, I've had my hair pulled, punched, kicked, bitten, I mean you name it; not only by children but by my residents at care facilities. My mind never depicts these individuals for their behaviors but by their hearts- my residents, my kids, anyone I work with I love and show love even in the moments that I am a punching bag. My patience is truly my strongest attribute, and I will love your child regardless of their struggles. I enjoy going on outings- I'm a pretty active person so walks, the zoo, Omsi, the park, the pool, etc are all these I do pretty often. I am more than willing to discuss prices in person, I don't do rates as of now because of course the level of difficulty comes into play but more than anything I want to discuss what it possible for the family. I would love to meet you and am very open and friendly! Please email me or text (due to spotty reception email is best) to meet with me and discuss whatever you may be interested in. I've experienced it all, and none of it bothers me- bed baths, incontinent care, transfer assistance, wound care, diabetes care, medication administration, etc. I usually insist on being a nanny in your home because change of scenery and schedule can be traumatizing for some kiddos , I know it was for my nephew who had autism. I took him out but to places he recognized like to the park by his house. Every child is different and unique and I am excited to hear about yours :) Religious preference? I was raised in a Christian home but have learned about lots of religions and do not currently follow any one whole heartedly- if your family does however I will honor that :)

Sitter Details

Email Address
Phone Number 503-954-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 5
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn (0-12 months)
Toddler (1-3 years)
Early School Age (4-6 years)
Primary School Age (7-11 years)
Preteen/Teenager (12+ years)
Availability Full Time
Part Time
Summer Only
Long Term
Services Daycare
Children's Crafts
Swimming Supervision
Pet Care
Training Cpr
First Aid
Household Sitter Owns Transportation
Light Meal Preparation
Light Housekeeping
General Special Needs
Hourly Rate $4.00
Number Of Children 5
Twins/Multiples Yes
Sick Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Child Care Provider

I Need a Child Care Provider
Post your Job
I Am a Child Care Provider
Post your Profile